Houston Sports Awards present by Insperity

January 16, 2020

The Houston Sports Awards presented by Insperity was created by the Harris County - Houston Sports Authority to celebrate the most accomplished athletes, coaches, teams, contributors and moments in the Houston Sports Community.


Houston Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

The third annual Houston Sports Awards will celebrate A Golden Era and will honor Carl Lewis, Mary Lou Retton and Rudy Tomjanovich as its third Hall of Fame Class.


2020 Lifetime Achievement Award

The late Robert C. McNair will be honored with the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award at the Houston Sports Awards presented by Insperity.


Award Categories

Coach of the Year

  • A.J. Hinch – Houston Astros
  • Tina Langley – Rice Owls
  • Bill O’Brien – Houston Texans
  • Kelvin Sampson – University of Houston


Athlete of the Year

  • Simone Biles
  • Alex Bregman
  • James Harden
  • Justin Verlander
  • Deshaun Watson


College Athlete of the Year

  • Corey Davis – University of Houston
  • Jalen Hurts – University of Oklahoma
  • Nicole Lennon – Rice University
  • Erica Ogwumike – Rice University


High School Athlete of the Year

  • Devon Achane – Fort Bend Marshall High School
  • Matthew Boling – Strake Jesuit College Preparatory
  • Zach Evans – North Shore High School
  • Libby Overmyer – Kingwood Park High School


Moment of the Year – presented by McDonalds

  • Jose Altuve’s walk-off home run in Game 6 to clinch the American League Championship
  • James Harden’s 61-point game in 114-100 win at New York Knicks
  • Kaycee Feild wins 5th Bareback Riding title at Rodeo Houston
  • Texans beat Patriots for the first time since January 3, 2010